Top 10 Nintendo GameCube Soundtracks

August 28, 2011

Top 10

The Nintendo GameCube will always remain one of my favorite consoles to date.  It had some truly great titles along with some of the best exclusives during it’s time period.  Let’s take a look at my top 10 favorite soundtracks on the GameCube after a decade of it’s release.

– F-Zero GX

F-Zero GX was the first F-Zero title to not be developed by Nintendo.  In collaboration with SEGA, they had AV (Amusement Vision, known for the original two Super Monkey Ball titles) behind the development…and they surely nailed the franchise perfectly.  Crazy sense of speed? Check.  Outstanding graphics? Check.  Tight controls? Check.  Insanely awesome soundtrack? Double check.  F-Zero GX was the definition of a stellar racing title and the soundtrack tremendously aided in this department.  It was hard to pick only one song to demonstrate, but Green Plant’s theme was the one that always made me max out the volume on my TV.  Still can’t believe I completed this on Master Difficulty…anyway, take a listen below!

 

– Resident Evil 4

“Destined to be the greatest survival horror game of all time” is the quote that Game Informer stated on the back of the box of RE4…they couldn’t have been more correct.  Resident Evil 4 still stands as my favorite game of all time and if you haven’t played it yet, shame on you.  However, I’m not here to tell you why the game was beyond incredible, but I’m here to tell you how remarkable the soundtrack was.  Every song in the game either gave you a creepy vibe of what lurked in the area ahead or amped up the intensity factor drastically.  Couple that with some of the best sound effects in a game and you’ve got audio design at its finest.  Choosing only one song was incredibly difficult to display for you readers but I chose the one song that really got my adrenaline going during the extra mode, The Mercenaries.

 

– Super Monkey Ball

Yes, that’s right.  Super Monkey Ball is on this list, but let me explain why before you quickly dismiss it.  Super Monkey Ball was a launch title for the GameCube that I had zero interest in.  As a matter of fact, I remember going into Blockbuster aiming to rent Sonic Adventure 2: Battle.  Naturally, since it was a new release, there was no copy there to rent and the only available game that was sitting on the shelf was Super Monkey Ball.  Now I remembered reading Nintendo Power’s review for it and while they praised it, I still had no interest in it.  I didn’t want to leave Blockbuster without renting a game for my ‘Cube so I decided to give it a shot.  Well, after firing it up on the console, I started the first level and thought, “whoa, the game runs in 60 FPS and has some pretty catchy music!”  As I kept playing, I instantly grew fond of the songs within the game, no matter how challenging the game became.  Granted, you needed nerves of steel to complete Expert Mode (proud completionist right here…not trying to brag or anything) but it was still addictive to keep trying.  The soundtrack was a motivator for me to keep trying as well.  It just fit the game in a way so few do.  While the Super Monkey Ball franchise has gotten dramatically worse after the second installment (due to Amusement Vision not being behind the development), this first installment was the one that will always remain fondly in my memories.  Check out the song for the first level below!

 

– Viewtiful Joe

Viewtiful Joe was an interesting game.  I remember hating the game at first wondering why it got praised from the critics.  However, after giving the game a second playthrough, I started to really grasp the gameplay mechanics and really appreciate everything the game had to offer.  This wasn’t your average side-scroller where you could literally pull off the same moves to best your opponents.  This game demanded your attention, even on the Easy difficulty.  While the story wasn’t exactly my main motivator to progress through the game, the humor incorporated was pretty well done.  The soundtrack on the other hand was another story.  The game’s tracks were really fast-paced and only added to the intensity level of game’s difficulty.  Take a listen to the track below to get an idea of how fast-paced the music is!

 

– TimeSplitters 2

“Heir apparent to GoldenEye” was the main quote on the front of the box from Electronic Gaming Monthly.  Well, seeing that developer Free Radical consisted mostly of members from RareWare that were behind GoldenEye and Perfect Dark, I’d say the statement is entirely valid.  TimeSplitters 2 was a true classic that provided limitless hours of entertainment and creativity.  The creativity part comes in the fact that you had a truly in-depth Map Maker feature that let you create not only multiplayer maps, but single-player missions with your own objectives and enemy AI that you programmed yourself!  As of today, I have yet to see a console game that matches this map maker mode.  The coolest part to the Map Maker was choosing what song you wanted in your newly created map.  The tough part was actually choosing one song to fit your map seeing that each song was entirely unique and memorable.  Check out the track below to hear what I mean!

 

– Luigi’s Mansion

A launch title that received mixed reactions, Luigi’s Mansion puts you in the role of Mario’s brother packing a proton…er…Poltergust 3000 to capture ghosts in a haunted mansion in which Mario was last seen.  Personally, Luigi’s Mansion was one of my favorite Gamecube titles to ever grace the console.  Luckily, we’re seeing a proper sequel 10 years later on the 3DS.  However, one element that really stood out was the soundtrack.  I can’t help but hum with Luigi (who’s humming the theme himself) as I go through the creepy mansion.  Heck…I hum the theme sometimes when I walk around my house when it’s pitch black.  Take a listen below!

 

– Eternal Darkness: Sanity’s Requiem

Silicon Knight’s under-appreciated psychological horror title, Eternal Darkness: Sanity’s Requiem, was a really unique experience.  I remember playing this game late at night and all of a sudden the volume on my TV actually raised to the max on it’s own, then muted it…then I decided to save and shut off the game until the game said it was erasing my entire memory card.  I remember cursing up a storm wondering “how the hell is this possible?!”  I shut off the system, rebooted it, checked my memory card and everything was still there.  The game was completely messing with me.  It was at this moment that I knew the game was going to be a one of a kind experience.  Eternal Darkness’s atmosphere was incredibly creepy and aside from the psychological tests the game will put you through, the soundtrack was enticing.  Each track fits the era you adventure through from the moment you start until the moment you reach the final battle.  Take a listen at the awesome final boss battle music below to get a taste of how well done the soundtrack was!

 

– SSX 3

One of my personal favorite games of all time, SSX 3 took everything that worked perfectly in the SSX franchise and made it open-world across three peaks on one mountain.  You were able to actually board down the mountain from the top of peak 3 to the bottom of peak 1 without a single load time and it would take roughly 30 minutes!  However, what’s snowboarding without an awesome playlist of songs…and SSX 3 delivered.  SSX 3 had a dynamic soundtrack by playing certain segments of songs at certain sequences of the level, which really immerses the player throughout their traversal down the mountain.  The licensed soundtrack had a ton of variety and while every song might not have tailored to you, there were always a handful that would stay on your playlist to listen through.  Take a listen to Andy Hunter’s “Go” which was one of the main themes of the game!

 

– Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes

The remake of Hideo Kojima’s classic for the PS1, Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes was the original MGS combined with all the gameplay elements from MGS2.  It was a well made remake of a much beloved classic but the one change that was made which initially annoyed me was the soundtrack.  When I heard it was not the same soundtrack, I was wondering, “Why would they change a perfect soundtrack?”  Well, after booting the game up, my initial thoughts were gone and by the end I thought, “Damn, that was a really good soundtrack!”  It was essentially most of the same songs remade with a different tone to them but then there were entirely new tracks as well.  One in particular was Psycho Mantis’s boss battle theme.  In MGS for PS1, every boss had the same epic song.  In the remake, every boss had their own theme.  Each song was very well composed and ended up sticking in my head a good chunk of the time upon completion.  Take a listen to Psycho Mantis’s battle music below…and don’t worry, you won’t need to swap your controller for him to know that you’re listening to it.

 

– Super Smash Bros. Melee

The classic fighting title for the N64 returned as a launch title for the Nintendo GameCube and what a sequel it was!  Super Smash Bros. Melee was one of the best launch titles that was ever released for any system.  I remember being in eighth grade and right after Christmas, it was the one game everyone was talking about besides MGS2.  After spending hundreds of hours playing this with my friends, it’s no wonder the music stuck in my head.  Take the iconic songs from classic Nintendo franchises and touch them up to 2001’s standards and that’s how to sum up SSBM’s soundtrack.  Take a listen to Hyrule Temple’s song below to hear how they took the infamous song from “The Legend of Zelda II: Link’s Awakening” and made it better!


There you have it readers.  Naturally there were many other titles that I wanted to add to this list but these were my personal top 10 soundtracks for the GameCube.  Agree or disagree, sound off your thoughts in the comments!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Glacier928

Marcello is the founder, creator and editor-in-chief of GamersXtreme. His dedication and passion shows as he keeps gamers informed with daily news articles and provides truthful, honest opinions on all gaming related news. Having experience with video game design, as well as over 20 years of gaming under his belt, Marcello has always had a massive interest in the gaming society. Originally, he created GamersXtreme in the style of a magazine back in middle school. Today, he has taken what was created as a basic premise and has evolved it into the site it is today.

View all posts by Glacier928

Subscribe to Gamers Xtreme

Subscribe with us and you'll receive the latest news, reviews, podcasts, editorials and videos the moment they are posted!

11 Comments on “Top 10 Nintendo GameCube Soundtracks”

  1. Mike Says:

    you didn’t mention either of the two legend of zeldas or Metroid prime. Metroid prime had some awesome ass music. It was very atmospheric and set a mood anytime you jumped into the game. God I love that game.

    Reply

    • Glacier928 Says:

      Metroid Prime and the two Legend of Zelda titles had excellent music, no question. They were on my top list when I was writing this editorial but the 10 I picked were the ones that were most memorable for me. It’s always difficult compiling a top 10 list because there’s always more than just 10 titles that need to be mentioned.

      Reply

  2. masterlinkace Says:

    I’m sorry, in what world does wind waker not have one of the (if not the) best gamecube soundtracks?

    Reply

    • Glacier928 Says:

      Wind Waker has a great soundtrack! Believe me, I wanted to have Wind Waker on the top 10, but the ones mentioned above really were the ones that stood out to me the most.

      Reply

    • archos Says:

      wind waker had the best soundtrack out of any gamecube game. shoulda been #1 on this list. disappointed.

      Reply

  3. James Says:

    Nice to see F Zero GX – and a mention to Green Plant’s music – make the cut. It’s probably my favourite arcade racer of all time, and the music was ace. Really defined every track.

    Reply

  4. R17 Says:

    Glad to see RE4 and Luigis mansion on there! Rogue Squadron is another personal favorite of mine too. Great list as always Glacier!

    Reply

  5. Frozen Says:

    I can still remember going to my neighbor’s house every weekend just to play Melee, when I clicked that song it brought back some good memories. Another great vgm list from Glacier!

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Hardest/Most Rewarding Gaming Challenges | Gamers XTREME - January 18, 2012

    […] were tight, the gameplay was lightning fast and provided one of the best soundtracks (in my Top 10 Nintendo GameCube Soundtracks) in gaming history that would get your adrenaline going. Regardless of what made the game […]

Leave a Reply

